What's best for sending HDMI signal long distances?

Hi all…first post…here goes…

I’m new to streaming, had my ATEM Mini Pro a few weeks & am planning to live stream conferences/presentations/gigs here in Australia (anyone else here in Oz please say hi!)

I’m assuming we usually get to setup at the back of the room with the cameras & run the stream from there, but we need to get the laptop feed/presentation and/or a camera feed from the front of the room.
I’ve heard there’s SDI or HDMI over ethernet to do a run over 5/10 metres.
My cameras (GH5, GH4, GoPro7 Black) don’t have SDI, so I’m wondering why there would be any reason to buy HDMI to SDI converters etc & SDI cable instead of HDMI to ethernet system? Ethernet appears cheaper & what people are using for long runs with home theatre systems etc.
If ethernet is the winner, any tips?
I’ve seen that some converters have a HDMI pass through so the laptop feed can be split to a projector on stage & also to the back of the room…that seems better than a separate HDMI splitter.
Any reason a camera feed (1080 for ATEM Mini Pro is all that’s required) wouldn’t work over ethernet?

Welcome!

I’ve used both SDI and ethernet extenders for long cable runs, and I have to say the SDI ones are far more reliable. The converters aren’t even necessarily more expensive. The cables are though.

The other option is wireless HDMI like the Hollyland Mars, which I used at the last in-person event I filmed.

And yes I would definitely use a converter with an HDMI pass-through rather than an HDMI splitter. HDMI splitters can cause really bizarre issues.

1 Like

Aaron…thanks for the feedback…I’m going to check out the costs of SDI & ethernet for the same run/length to see what the difference actually is price wise.