My initial setup as LikeThisReview YouTuber

LikeThisReview - Nico Wasmus, The Netherlands

As I’m retiring from work in 2 years and 10 months, people asks me “What are you going to do as a hobby?”

When I reply “Vlogger” people like my sister and her daughter start to laugh. Except for my brother, who replied “Ah, Influencer!”

Well, we will see about that. For now I have the desire to create guides on YouTube because I like doing that and doing research work for it.

Until my retirement I’m collecting the needed gear and try it out. I’m studying YouTube videos and books to get a better understanding of How To Vlog.

As soon as I’m retired I will start uploading videos (now too occupied with work). By then I will have a workflow around the ATEM Mini Pro (AMP) from BlackMagic Design.

This little device is a Live Production Switcher which will make it possible to work with multiple cameras (Close-up, Wide shot, and/or overhead camera) and HDMI input from PC, MAC, or Tablet.

As switching camera (angles) can be done in real-time there is no need to do this in post-production editing which will save time. The AMP supports also livestreaming (to YouTube for example) and recording to external USB disk.

My first channel, LikeThisReview, is in Dutch and is focused on how to become a Vlogger. So I basically will report on the journey I undertake myself.

As I get the hang of it and perhaps after building an audience in The Netherlands, I will then open a second channel, LikeThisHowTo, in English.

Currently I’m using Sony A6400 camera with 16-50 and 55-210 mm lens plus iPadPro (2017). Will buy AMP as soon as I have the money :slight_smile:

My setup is aimed at Vlogging (YouTuber) and Home Recording and is centered around a large L-shaped desk in the middle of a 3 x 6 meters room (where I work at home).

I try to do as much as possible without a PC or laptop. Sadly the AMP requires a Windows PC or MAC to run its ATEM Software Control.