Advice on hotspot devices

Hi everyone.

I’m embarrassing excited to be here. I’ve been learning the world of video and audio for the last 2 years to help my fiancée’s business, and thanks to Aaron, I’m venturing into the world of live-streaming, and more importantly, the world of computers. Feeling like an imposter actually!

So, my question relates to mobile hotspot devices. Thanks to Aaron’s recent plug of the GL- AR750S travel router, I picked up one of those. Plugging that into an Ethernet cable will be plan A when live-streaming events at different locations, but I’m not sure how practical that will always be.

Therefore, I’m looking for the next best solution. Not being too tech saavy, my first thought was to use my phone as a 4g hotspot directly into the travel router. Maybe upgrade to a 5g iPhone. However, I’m not sure how stable and practical that would be. I’d like to be able to use my phone too.

So I’ve been looking at hotspot devices, to directly wire to my computer, digital mixer, Atem etc…I’ll work out that configuration later.

My questions relate to the most appropriate device, and what my expectations of this should be.

The top end of the tree here in Australia seems to be the Netgear Nighthawk M2, and getting data from Telstra, Australia’s best provider with regards to coverage.

The majority of these streams might be over zoom, and theoretically the hotspot should well be able to cover the upload requirements. The M1 version has the same upload capability of 150mbs, with a reduced download capability, but I’m inclined to go with a new model just for battery piece of mind.